Close

History

Jumping International de Bordeaux: it's a long story…

Not many of those historic early competitions still exist today…

At least, not many of those that featured on the 1978-1979 tour, the inaugural year in which the Jumping World Cup was still mostly amateur. The Jumping International de Bordeaux was one of those founder members. More than 40 years later Bordeaux is still there, stronger than ever, and firmly established as the French leg of this prestigious international circuit.

The history of the Jumping World Cup begins with a Swiss journalist by the name of Max Ammann. One day during the Montreal Olympics, drawing inspiration from the Skiing World Cup, Ammann went to see the President of the FEI, Prince Philip, Duke Of Edinburgh, and said: “I have an idea…”

“Well get to work then,” responded the Prince.

By May 1978, the concept had been more or less finalised and a decision had been taken: the World Cup would officially begin that following winter. The first final was held in Gothenburg, and Hugo Simon was presented with the inaugural trophy by Prince Philip in April 1979.

Of the ten destinations which featured in that first season, only four are still hosting World Cup events today: GothenburgGeneva, ‘s-Hertogenbosch and Bordeaux remain pillars of the international equestrian calendar in Western Europe.
Western Europe is also reputed to be the toughest league of the tour, on a par with the East Coast of the USA.

The Jumping International de Bordeaux was first held in 1973, under the aegis of its irrepressible, unforgettable founding father Emeric Coupérie. Originally held outdoors, on what is now the car park of Bordeaux’s Exhibition Centre the event moved indoors in 1974 for its first CSI.

One day, around three years after this first event, Emeric Coupérie arrived home brimming with enthusiasm:

“I’ve met this great guy called Max Ammann, we’re going to bring the World Cup to Bordeaux!”

Emeric Coupérie

 

The World Cup label brought all of the greatest riders of the day to the capital of Aquitaine: world champions David Broome and Gert Wiltfang, Irish captain Gerry Mullins, as well as John Whitaker and Thomas Frühmann all chalked up their names on the honours board in the 1980s.

Bordeaux witnessed some of its most memorable sporting moments in 1985 and 1986 with victories for John Whitaker and Milton and Pierre Durand and Jappeloup: “The exploits of Pierre Durand and Jappeloup had much to do with the success of the Jumping International de Bordeaux in the late 80s. The fans turned out in numbers to watch their local hero,” recalls Philippe, son of Emeric Coupérie.

When Emeric Coupérie passed away in 1985, the Marquis du Vivier took over the reins. The competition, now organised by a new team and nicknamed “Jumbo”, moved to the nearby velodrome in 1991 at the behest of mayor Jacques Chaban-Delmas. It was certainly an original environment in which to watch show jumping, with riders descending underground to emerge from a ramp in the middle of the arena, which was in any case too far from the spectators. The fans stopped turning up, so much so that Bordeaux sat out the 1994-1995 season.

But this absence was to be short-lived: in 1996 Le Jumping rose from the ashes, this time in the capable hands of what was then the Bordeaux Exhibitions Committee, now better known as Bordeaux Expo. Under their guidance, the Jumping International de Bordeaux soon regained its reputation for sporting spectacle, and the stands were packed once again!

In 2006, Le Jumping entered a new era and a new arena, Hall 3, still in the same location by the lake but now bigger, lighter and more modern. Year after year, the Jumping International de Bordeaux delivers equestrian thrills of the highest order, much to the delight of its passionate crowds!

Accès direct

Historique

Jumping International de Bordeaux, toute une histoire…
Ils ne sont plus si nombreux que cela, les concours de la première heure ... ceux de la saison 1978-1979 où était lancée, dans un environnement encore assez amateur, la Coupe du monde de saut d’obstacles. Le Jumping de Bordeaux fait partie de ces membres fondateurs. Plus de 30 ans après, Bordeaux est toujours là, plus solide que jamais et étape française de ce prestigieux circuit.

L’histoire de la Coupe du monde, c’est celle d’un journaliste suisse, Max Ammann, qui un jour, pendant les Jeux de Montréal en 1976 et inspiré par la Coupe du monde de ski, est allé voir le président de la FEI, le Prince Philip d’Edimbourg, et lui a dit : « J’ai une idée … » « Eh bien, mettez-la en œuvre, » lui a répondu le Prince.

Au mois de mai 1978, le concept était à peu près défini et la décision était prise : la Coupe du monde allait naître l’hiver suivant. Elle se déroula à Göteborg où Hugo Simon reçut, des mains du Prince Philip, le premier trophée en avril 79.

Des dix étapes de cette première campagne, seules quatre subsistent toujours aujourd’hui : Göteborg, Genève, s-Hertogenbosch et Bordeaux restent les plus solides piliers de la ligue de l’Europe de l’Ouest. Cette dernière est d’ailleurs réputée pour être la plus difficile avec celle de la côte Est des Etats-Unis.

Le Jumping de Bordeaux est né en 1973 avec un drôle et inoubliable père spirituel, Emeric Coupérie. D’abord national en extérieur, sur l’actuel parking de la Foire de Bordeaux, le Jumping est rentré sous abris en 1974 pour son premier CSI.

Trois ans après ce lancement, Emeric Coupérie rentre un jour chez lui, débordant d’enthousiasme :

« J’ai rencontré un type formidable, il s’appelle Max Ammann, nous allons organiser la Coupe du Monde à Bordeaux ! ».

Emeric Coupérie -

Ce label Coupe du monde va attirer en Aquitaine tous les plus grands champions de l’époque : les champions du monde David Broome et Gert Wiltfang, le capitaine irlandais Gerry Mullins, et déjà John Whitaker et Thomas Frühmann, inscrivent leurs noms au palmarès de ces années 80.

Bordeaux connut de grandes heures sportives en 1985 et 1986 avec les victoires de John Whitaker et Milton et de Pierre Durand et Jappeloup : « Les sorties de Pierre Durand et de Jappeloup ont énormément contribué au succès du Jumping à la fin des années 80. Le public bordelais se déplaçait pour voir son poulain », souligne Philippe, le fils d’Emeric Coupérie.

A la mort d’Emeric Coupérie, en 1985, c’est le Marquis du Vivier qui reprend les rênes. Le concours organisé avec une nouvelle équipe et rebaptisé « Jumbo », déménage en 1991 à la demande de Jacques Chaban-Delmas, dans le nouveau vélodrome. Un environnement atypique pour le saut d’obstacles où les cavaliers descendaient en sous-sol pour apparaître par une rampe au beau milieu d’une piste trop éloignée du public. Et ce public bouda le concours qui a dû alors fermer ses portes pour la saison 94/95.

Pas pour longtemps : dès 1996, le Jumping renaissait de ses cendres, repris en main par l’équipe actuelle du Comité des Expositions de Bordeaux, qui deviendra ensuite Congrès et Expositions de Bordeaux. Sous son impulsion, le Jumping de Bordeaux retrouve vite ses fastes d’antan avec de grands moments de sport et des gradins toujours pleins !

Depuis 2006, le Jumping est entré dans une ère nouvelle en même temps que dans un nouveau hall, le n°3, toujours sur le même site, mais plus grand, plus lumineux, plus moderne. Chaque année, il offre un spectacle de haut-niveau pour combler un public de passionnés !

Ce site internet est optimisé pour les versions récentes des navigateurs (Internet Explorer 9 et supérieur, Firefox dernière version, Chrome dernière version, Safari dernière version). Pour ne pas rencontrer de difficultés dans l'affichage des informations, nous vous conseillons d'utiliser une version récente de votre navigateur.

Vous pouvez la télécharger dès maintenant en cliquant sur l'un des liens suivants :